The Silver Beaver award is the highest national award presented by a local council to individuals for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth through service given to the council. Each local council may present only a limited number of Silver Beaver awards each year, which makes this a very prestigious award for those whose record of service to youth is most outstanding!

The Cradle of Liberty Council is currently accepting nominations for volunteers who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.  Remember this is for service given at the Council level.  There are other Awards for Unit and District Service.

Please make sure your nomination adequately documents the contributions of your candidate.  A testimonial letter to supplement the nomination form is not only welcome, but strongly encouraged.

Nominations are due by February 17th.

You may email your completed nomination form, see button below, email , or drop it off or mail it to the Cradle of Liberty Council, Boy Scouts of America, 1485 Valley Forge Road, Wayne, PA 19087.

The 2023 Silver Beaver Award recipients will be recognized at the Annual Council Recognition Celebration, which will be announced early in 2023.

Nomination Form
List of Past Recipients

The District Award of Merit is the highest award that is given to a Scouter at the district level and is recognizes adults for service to youth in the District. Interestingly enough, the District Award of Merit is the only “non-square knot” in the knot award group.

Click here for the nomination form.

Nominations should be submitted through your district committee.

The Distinguished Unit Leader Award is an award established by the Cradle of Liberty Council to recognize a unit leader who not only performs his/her duties within their unit, but frequently goes above and beyond those duties for the benefit of the youth in their unit.

Nomination Form & Procedures

Lifesaving and Meritorious Action Awards1c6c813bb9d5494160041c1c4ee2fb70_S

National awards for lifesaving and meritorious action are made only for outstanding and unusual acts that demonstrate unusual heroism, skill, or bravery and reflec

Religious Emblems Programs

A Scout is reverent. He is reverent toward God. He is faithful in his religious duties and respects the convictions of others in matters of custom and religion.


For more information, click here

Awards Central

The Boy Scouts of America’s repository for information about official awards and recognition’s. This is where the most up-to-date information about BSA-related awards may be found, including award applications and nomination forms.

Click here for the National Awards Page